Types of Kumbh Melas

kumbh mela allahabad

The Kumbh Mela, which follow the Hindu calendar, are classified as types of kumbh melas:

  • The Maha Kumbh occurs after 12 Purna Kumbh Melas i.e. every 144 years.
  • The Kumbh Mela (sometimes specifically called Purna Kumbh or “full Kumbha”), occurs every 12 years at a given site. Kumbh Mela at Prayag is celebrated approximately 3 years after Kumbh at Haridwar and 3 years before Kumbh at Nashik and Ujjain (both of which are celebrated in the same year or one year apart).
  • Ardh Kumbh (“Half Kumbh”) Mela occurs every 6 years between the two Purna Kumbha Melas at Prayag and Haridwar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *